NOMINATE: FA Groundsman of the Year

The FA, in conjunction with all County FA's, are again running the prestigious FA Groundsman of the Year Awards for the 2016-17 season, for all...

Following the success of last season’s Groundsman of the Year Awards, the nomination process is open again. The deadline to apply is Monday 27 February 2017, please send the nomination form (attached below) back to us here at Manchester FA.

Summary of 2015/2016 Awards

The Awards Day followed in the footsteps of the successful 2015 competition and took place in mid-August at St George’s Park. The nominees were given a guided tour of the site as well as an insightful presentation from Karl Standley (Head Groundsman at Wembley Stadium) and also a question and answer workshop with professional groundsmen from Southampton, Manchester City along with Alan Ferguson from St George’s Park. The awards ceremony took place in the afternoon with members of The FA Facilities Committee presenting the winners with their certificates and trophies.

The winners were then invited as special guests for the England v Spain Friendly fixture in November. They enjoyed the hospitality on offer before being treated to an opportunity to join the Wembley Ground Staff on the pitch at half time. The feedback received was overwhelmingly positive.

Graham Foxall (Trafford FC) and Ian Keymer (Cadishead Sports), pictured above, were both awarded for their superb efforts at their respective clubs in Greater Manchester. Well done again to both of these men and hopefully we can celebrate more unsung heroes this year who do this usually thankless but necessary task.

If you have any questions, please contact:

Daniel Green
Head of Participation & Development
0161 225 1966

Related News

View All