The 2017-18 Saturday Challenge Trophy champions, Avro Football Club lifting the trophy at Ewen Fields.

Congratulations, Avro Football Club!

Avro FC get their hands on the Saturday Challenge Trophy once again after a penalty shootout win against East Manchester.

At Ewen Fields on Friday 23 February, history was made once again as Avro lifted the Saturday Challenge Trophy for the tenth time to kick-off Manchester FA's 2018 County Cup Finals.

After a nervy affair against their Manchester League rivals and 2016-17 holders East Manchester, the North Manchester side won the tie on penalties 3-2 as the sides couldn't be seperated in 90 minutes. Karl Stone producing the penalty shootout winning save as he touched it on to the post after a quick instinctive dive to his right.

This season and historically both Avro and East have had tight contests as they compete for the Premier Division title and this trophy, and throughout this fixture in freezing temperatures it was much of the same as clear-cut chances were hard to come by despite both teams working hard.

The cup final had an added prominence in front of a bumper crowd as it was a fitting tribute and celebration for the Manchester League on their 125th anniversary this season.

Attendance: 353

Match Officials: Benjamin Wyatt (Referee), Adewumni Soneye & Yasmin Saeed (Assistants), Oliver Noonan (4th Official).

Highlights from the game will be uploaded to our YouTube channel in the coming days, with the dedicated cup page on this website also updated in due course.

Previous Challenge Trophy Final Results

2011-12 | Avro 1-0 East Manchester

2013-14 | East Manchester 1-0 Avro


Starting XI
1. Philip Pole (GK)
2. Connor Brotherton
3. Daniel Walker
4. Michael Taylor
5. Darren Green (Captain)
6. Kyle McGovern
7. Brad Byrne
8. Jack Timmons
9. Sam Jones
10. Harrison Peglar
11. Alex Beeley

12. Max Perry
14. George Etchells
15. Brandon McIntosh
16. Steve Dorman
17. Scott Percival

James Kinsey

Starting XI
1. Karl Stone
2. Neil Sagar
3. Liam McNally
4. Charlie Fuller
5. Sam Rathbone (Captain)
6. Callum Jackson
7. Duncan Knott
8. Louis Potts (Player of the Match)
9. Liam Bennion
10. Michael Stockdale
11. Chris Howell

12. Joe Rathbone
14. Vincent Howell
15. Matt Landregan
16. Kyle Parsons
17. Jamie Waldon

Joint Managers
James Hampson
Lee O'Brien

Related Match Reports

View All